Underground Cellar Pics / Wine / Zinfandel

Wine review: Inspiration Vineyards 2012 Dry Creek Zinfandel

Located in the heart of the Russian River Valley, operated by John and Barbara Philips.  Grapes come from an eastern facing Hillside Vineyard just outside Healdsburg, CA.

My retarded ass got audio, but I didn’t get any video or photos, so you’re going to have to resort to stock photos for now.  The pairing for this meal was actually buffalo steak with Cajun spice.

My preferences in Zins tend toward big, fruity powerhouse styles with meat laced pizza (no cheese!)

But right from the start, the nose is nice spice and pepper.  Berry notes, along with an unidentifiable green substance, not sure what that is.  But it’s present in the old world wines I tend to enjoy.

Taste – a really relaxed Zinfandel.  Sweet cherry on the palate followed by a medium dry finish coating the mouth deliciously.  Hints of terroir, with more balance than expected out of California wines as of late.

This was a stellar wine pick that I grabbed at Underground Cellar.  You should check them out.  I don’t get paid to endorse them, though hopefully that’s going to be a thing some day.  Oh, I can dream…

