Cigars / Uncategorized

Event Review: Joya De Nicaragua Cigars at Mission Pipe


Last night I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Alejandro Martinez Cuenca of Joya De Nicaragua. He’s a very pleasant man with a passion for sharing his cigars, relaxation and quality of life. We’ll be exploring more of his product on Pure Indulgence in an upcoming podcast but until then I’m going to share my notes on thew two cigars I smoked last night.

First up: The Antano – The first time I smoked this stick a few months back it was a power bomb with no flavor what so ever. I chalk this up to my palate because the one I smoked last night had notes of coffee, mild earth and robust flavors that were NOT overpowering. It required a few relights but that was due to the networking/partying I was doing on behalf of Radio Dentata of course 😉 Even in the end of the cigar where I’d expect a buildup of tar and such, the flavors still held solid with a draw that was easy and enjoyable. I paired this with Bushmills Blended scotch.

Dr. Alejandro Martinez Cuenca of Joya De Nicaragua Cigars

The second cigar I smoked was the Antano dark Corojo – a tasty cigar with an oily wrapper and some nice spices that cut through the previous cigar and paired well with a German Hefe Wiessbeir. The draw was smooth, flavors consistent yet not overly complex.

The style of both smokes was reminiscent of an old world smoking style. Full bodied cigars that have flavor and power. These sticks aren’t for the faint of heart but JdN does make a line of mild-medium cigars for customers who prefer less strength in a cigar but still seek an old world taste.

More to come on Pure Induglence!

Leave a Reply

