Port

PORT Review – Belo Cotta Vineyard 1998

I was amazed when I found this bottle of port for $4 at Grocery Outlet a few months back.  I picked up a few bottles just for kicks, figuring that it’s probably past it’s vintage and would just be dumped but I secretly had hoped for a zinger.

While I didn’t get a HUGE win, I did get a port that’s deep purple in color, has a nice, velvety strucutre, probably from the zinfandel blend (also added is touriga, tinto cao and Sousao) that create a nice ruby port style with character.  The port is a syrupy dose of heaven for not too much money if you can find it.

Information on Belo Vineyards can be obtained by emaling them at belowwine@msn.com

Leave a Reply

