Uncategorized

WINE Review Ramsay 2007 North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon

This wine was one I’d tried many years ago and I guess I was just stupid. I didn’t like it. But the palate grows and changes with age and also,I was at a wine/cigar event in League City. Chances are I hadn’t eaten enough and I’d smoked too much because I remember coming home and passing out.

Tried a bottle tonight and picked up deep cherry/berry flavors, a chewy mouth feel, nice tannins, definite structure and something that accompanied chicken and rice stew pretty well. the finish was medium to long, I’m still tasting it now as I finished my last glass ten minutes ago.

For $16, not a bad wine though do check around because a deal can be had if you’re willing to look a little.

We picked it up at Grocery Outlet in Oakland for around $7 a bottle.

Website

from the website:

Starting in 1989, Kent and Celia launched a second brand, called “Ramsay” – Celia’s maiden name – which was originally intended to focus on some ‘less-than-usual’ varietal wines. But as time passed, the Ramsay brand has taken on an entirely different identity, that of a true ‘second label’. Best known for its high quality, but lower-price, Ramsay Pinot Noir is often poured by the glass in wine bars and restaurants. The Ramsay-brand line also includes a Cabernet Sauvignon, and a Merlot.

I’d love to see next year’s release.

3 thoughts on “WINE Review Ramsay 2007 North Coast Cabernet Sauvignon

  1. This one did only because the chicken had little flavor to it. I had an upset stomach the previous night and have been having stress related eating problems again. But if GF cooks, usually the balance is pretty okay.

Leave a Reply

