WhitewolfIndulgence's Blog

Contributing to The Good Life through Honest Reviews

Wine Review: Aussie Vineyards Twelve Apostles South Eastern 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon

From South Eastern Austrailia, this wine boasts balanced tannins and chocolate on the palate with a creamy oak feel in the mouth. A medium bodied Cab from Aussie Vineyards. A ripe berry nose that opens up after time. Paired well with steak covered in african spice mixture and fried potato slices.

This wine is priced at just under $20 but I picked it up for less at Grocery Outlet.

March 3, 2010 - Posted by | Austrailian Wines, Cabernet Sauvignon | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. A wonderful cab, buying all the cases I can find at Grocery Outlet.

    Comment by Bob Bofelli | May 27, 2010 | Reply

  2. My friend in the states also found this at a Grocery outlet in the Sacramento, CA area at $2.99 a bottle. He loved it, went back and bought a case one day and another the next.

    Comment by Diane Brown | July 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. I’m looking for a couple of cases of Twelve Apostles Cab Sav to give as gifts…I need them tomorrow… I’m in Highett Victoria. Can someone tell me where I can purchase any in the bayside area?

    Comment by Kim Anderson | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I just bought the last case at our local Grocery Outlet. And 20% off $2.99 a bottle!

    Comment by David | November 13, 2010 | Reply

  5. we just picked up probably $100 worth of wine from Grocery outlet as well. Got a case, so hopefully we’ll see it as a worthwhile expense for reviews here!

    Comment by Sascha Illyvich | November 13, 2010 | Reply

  6. Sorry, but the unfamiliar flavor of the wood in this bottle gives me the creeps.
    Maybe I need catching up with the acquired flavor, but I detect eucalyptus, or some foreign wood to my taste buds, and pray so someone please explain directly.
    I’ll wait a spell for the after effects. Purgatives are welcome, but not on a regular basis. Who might I break this bottle out on is a much larger question? Someone with a need for medicinal, no disrespect, for wine making is a great labor, unlike milking cows, flavors which follow the seasons of grass and garlic, but curiosity peaks my interest more than familiar Cabernet, otherwise I would drink straight our kiddy brand of Welch’s grape juice.

    Comment by Wanderwits | March 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes, this flavor rhymes with tobacco, a most annoying flavor for non-smokers. I shall anticipate a soothing mental ambiance, and digestive harmony in tune with my palette, after which I shall introduce the experience to others. I shall not reveal credits to the alcohol content before the second glass.

      Comment by Wanderwits | March 27, 2011 | Reply

  7. Good strong Aussie wine. Always buy an extra bottle for my priest since the name is Biblical.
    Knocks me out after working as a nurse on night shift and gives me a great sleep. Goes well with my scrambled eggs. Who the hell are the dudes on the label?

    Comment by kim | July 5, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m not finding the cab drinking as strongly but the Chard is still flavorful. At $36 for a case I’ll probably go back and get one or two.

      Comment by whitewolfindulgence | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  8. This is one of the nicest cabs [for the price]
    i have tasted. I WANT to buy more and more. August 1,2011
    FREELYNN

    Comment by Lynne Freeman | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  9. Bought a bottle in Moses Lake, Washington. Didn’t crack it open until that weekend in Wenatchee, WA. Took a long detour out of my way to go back to Moses Lake to pick up 3 cases of the 2009 Cab. Nice wine, not too heavy or dry… I have a bottle of 12 Apostles Chardonnay to crack open and try later.

    Comment by Duane Vincent | August 31, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,232 other followers

